Upcoming: 2021-22 fixtures released

Sunderland AFC will host Wigan Athletic on the opening day of the 2021-22 Sky Bet League One season.

After lining up against former club captain Max Power, Lee Johnson’s side will then face an away-day double header, travelling to Milton Keynes Dons on Saturday 14 August before visiting Burton Albion three days later.

Successive home fixtures against AFC Wimbledon and Wycombe Wanderers will round off the opening month of the league season, which will also see the Lads in Carabao Cup action.

The Black Cats’ festive schedule will start on Saturday 18 December against Ipswich Town at Portman Road, with a Boxing Day clash at Doncaster Rovers followed by Stadium of Light showdown with Sheffield Wednesday.

The New Year will start on home turf when Fleetwood Town travel to Wearside, with Shrewsbury Town (H) and Plymouth Argyle (A) on the Lads’ Easter weekend agenda. 

Johnson’s side will conclude the campaign on the road, taking on League One newcomers Morecambe at the Globe Arena.


SAT 07 AUG Wigan Athletic (H)
SAT 14 AUG Milton Keynes Dons (A)
TUE 17 AUG Burton Albion (A)
SAT 21 AUG AFC Wimbledon (H)
SAT 28 AUG Wycombe Wanderers (H)


SAT 04 SEPT Sheffield Wednesday (A)
SAT 11 SEPT Accrington Stanley (H)
SAT 18 SEPT Fleetwood Town (A)
SAT 25 SEPT Bolton Wanderers (H)
TUE 28 SEPT Cheltenham Town (H)


SAT 02 OCT Portsmouth (A)
SAT 09 OCT Oxford United (H)
SAT 16 OCT Gillingham (A)
TUE 19 OCT Crewe Alexandra (A)
SAT 23 OCT Charlton Athletic (H)
SAT 30 OCT Rotherham United (A)


SAT 13 NOV Lincoln City (H)
SAT 20 NOV Ipswich Town (H)
TUE 23 NOV Shrewsbury Town (A)
SAT 27 NOV Cambridge United (A)


TUE 07 DEC Morecambe (H)
SAT 11 DEC Plymouth Argyle (H)
SAT 18 DEC Ipswich Town (A)
SUN 26 DEC Doncaster Rovers (A)
WED 29 DEC Sheffield Wednesday (H)


SAT 01 JAN Fleetwood Town (H)
SAT 08 JAN Wycombe Wanderers (A)
SAT 15 JAN Accrington Stanley (A)
SAT 22 JAN Portsmouth (H)
SAT 29 JAN Bolton Wanderers (A)


SAT 05 FEB Doncaster Rovers (H)
TUE 08 FEB Cheltenham Town (A)
SAT 12 FEB AFC Wimbledon (A)
SAT 19 FEB Milton Keynes Dons (H)
TUE 22 FEB Burton Albion (H)
SAT 26 FEB Wigan Athletic (A)


SAT 05 MAR Charlton Athletic (A)
SAT 12 MAR Crewe Alexandra (H)
SAT 19 MAR Lincoln City (A)
SAT 26 MAR Rotherham United (H)


SAT 02 APR Gillingham (H)
SAT 09 APR Oxford United (A)
FRI 15 APR Shrewsbury Town (H)
MON 18 APR Plymouth Argyle (A)
SAT 23 APR Cambridge United (H)
SAT 30 APR Morecambe (A)

Back to top