2023-24: Retained list confirmed

Sunderland AFC today confirmed its retained list for the 2023-24 season.

Carl Winchester will depart the Club after two-and-a-half years, while Jacob Carney will also leave when his contract expires on 30 June 2023.

Amad Diallo, Edouard Michut and Joseph Gelhardt have also returned to their parent clubs.

Everyone at Sunderland AFC would like to thank the players for their professionalism and commitment during their time at the Club, and wish them well for the future.


Ajibola Alese
Joseph Anderson
Abdoullah Ba
Daniel Ballard
Alex Bass
Daniel Batth
Jewison Bennette
Thomas Chiabi
Dennis Cirkin
Jack Clarke
Ben Crompton
Leon Dajaku
Jack Diamond
Pierre Ekwah
Elliot Embleton
Corry Evans
Lynden Gooch
Niall Huggins
Trai Hume
Zak Johnson
Caden Kelly
Isaac Lihadji
Jay Matete
Daniel Neil
Luke O’Nien
Anthony Patterson
Alex Pritchard
Connor Pye
Adam Richardson
Patrick Roberts
Ross Stewart
Ellis Taylor
Max Thompson
Timur Tutierov
Callum Wilson
Bailey Wright

Contract To Be Offered

The Club are in discussions with the following players regarding signing a new contract:

Harry Gardiner
Michael Spellman

Out Of Contract and Released

Harrison Bond
Jacob Carney
Cameron Jessup
Ethan Kachosa
Nathan Newall
Owen Robinson
Thomas Scott
Harrison Sohna
Carl Winchester

Loan Players

The following players will return to their parent clubs following the expiration of their loan deals:

Amad Diallo
Joseph Gelhardt
Edouard Michut

Youth Players Offered Professional Contracts

Oliver Bainbridge
Marshall Burke
Henry Fieldson
Harrison Jones
Ben Middlemas
Ethan Moore
Joseph Ryder

Second-Year Scholars Released At The End Of Their Scholarship

Will Cain
William Dowling
Louie Salkeld
Ben Williams

Back to top